Thrashing the Sea

Xerxes I of the Persian Empire had the Dardanelles flogged for destroying his military forces’ first floating bridge in a storm. He should have taken the hint.

Completely unrelated, I commented on “Stanford Rape: Unpacking the Shibboleths” dated 18 June 2016 and by Davis Aurini. He thinks his post is important in the heroic fight to change minds.

Due to my attention deficit disorder, let’s not talk about that. Hey, here’s the fundamental summary finding of J. D. Unwin’s research pertinent to his Sex and Culture (1934):

The whole of human history does not contain a single instance of a group becoming civilized unless it has been absolutely monogamous [regarding women*], nor is there any example of a group retaining its culture after it has adopted less rigorous customs.

I’m sure the examination of 80 primitive tribes and 6 known civilizations is not enough for such an audacious conclusion, as if there were some law of nature that worked that way.

Be the special little snowflake. You go on your rescue mission, sheep dogs; and I’ll keep my salvage mission centered upon myself. You don’t know the synergy you’re missing without you.

If you think I am advocating, or the information in the post supports advocating, monogamy during a decline, you need some work on your hubris and cowardice. I am recommending husbandry that is actually rewarding: it is The Way.

—‘Reality’ Doug, 19 June 2016

Update, 19 June 2016: *See the comment by Mycroft Jones. I used Wikipedia for the quote and profess my ignorance of its context. Reading Unwin is one of those luxury todos I can’t afford right now. Thank you feminism, banksterism, etc.

About ‘Reality’ Doug

I'm feed up with herd people, so civil and uncivilized, these feckless barbarians with manicures. Where is Galt's Gulch? and where are the people to go there? Who am I? Who is John Galt?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thrashing the Sea

  1. Mycroft Jones says:

    Unwin used a definition of “monogamy” that is different from the modern one. I read his book. And many of his “monogamous” societies where actually patriarchal/polygamous. What he meant by monogamy was that the women were monogamous, constrained and enforced by societal norms and rules. Not the men.

    [RD: I have not actually read Sex and Culture. I was suspicious of that word being an exaggeration. Thanks for the informed and constructive comment.]

What do you think?

